Performance

Sunshine and puppies,
Kittens and rainbows,
Wonderful things when life makes you smile.
Life isn’t always warm and fuzzy.
Kittens have quick claws.
Puppies have sharp teeth.
Rainbows appear after storms.
Sunshine burns.
Perspective matters,
But strong negative emotions don’t magically disappear.
People watching are puppeteers,
Strings pulled this way and that…
For desired affect,
Manipulate.
Trained pony perform!
The crack of a whip
Wincing I dance unwilling,
But unable to resist.
No approval.
Desert.
Favor.
Oasis.
My own rhythm lacking.
The beat discordant to many.
“Dance like no one’s watching!”
Cliche.
Everyone’s watching.
One by one the marionette strings are severed.
“Will she stumble?”
“She’s headed for a stumble.”
“I hope she stumbles!”
May some dance with me,
But my strength comes from picking myself up after a fall.
Grateful, I will tearfully rise again and again.
Not even gravity can keep me down.

Leave a comment